Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: help wit code p0121 on 5.3 engine

  1. #1
    HPTftw.com hevychevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EL NORTE, TX
    Posts
    6,751

    Default help wit code p0121 on 5.3 engine


    hey hpt need some help my check engine light keeps comin on and off everytime it comes on i take it to autozone and it gives out the coode P0121 which is the TPS Throttle Position Sensor, so i ask them to sell me a replacement sensor but neither autozone, oreilys or pep boys carries it, one of the guys at oreilys said jus to clean it out it might jus be dirty, what do yall think i should do? btw its a 2007 chevy silverado 5.3

  2. #2
    HPTftw.com La SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Under A Bridge /Richwood
    Posts
    4,875

    Default

    Clean your tb and make sure no wires are loose

  3. #3
    HPTrucks.com 1500hd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    956

    Default

    Clean it out. I bought that sensor before and mine was still good. Bought it at advance auto parts. And my light is still on I think it's just dirty.

  4. #4
    HPTftw.com 07Sierra5.3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    H-Town ✌
    Posts
    3,521

    Default

    i had the same code... just buy some throttle body cleaner. probably what it is.

  5. #5
    HPTftw.com
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,984

    Default

    just dont open the tb by hand or youll put it all out of wack
    2008 Cessna 182 - Flying errwhere

  6. #6
    HPTftw.com hevychevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EL NORTE, TX
    Posts
    6,751

    Default

    ok thanks for the good info guys

  7. #7
    13 second club quicksilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Richmond tx
    Posts
    2,455

    Default

    Clean throttle and theres updates to help it
    new setup fbo 3200 stall 373 gears 228 228 113 cam 5.3

    [COLOR="navy"]te la comes performance[

  8. #8
    Houston Performance Trucks Low4Door's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    La Juarez Dos- Cd. Reynosa Tamps
    Posts
    425

    Default

    Clean the TB with the 3m cleaner from oreilleys an the code will disappear wey
    FBO/Cam/Stall
    Tuned by KHP

    2011 Camaro Rs/Lt2

  9. #9
    Houstonperformancetrucks.com Metal-Mulisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    South Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,392

    Default

    im going through the same thing in my 2007 4.8 but i do see a change during idle my rpms jump around i used to happen in my wifes ford but hers the rpms would drop real low and the truck would shut off. i had it cleaned out and havent had the problem since

  10. #10
    HPTftw.com The Curse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    2,345

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by btc@tms View Post
    just dont open the tb by hand or youll put it all out of wack
    so ur saying that if you open it by hand it will mess up cuz i was having a lil bit of a diff problem i took the tb out of my truck to port and opened it by hand a few times and took the throttle plate out to sharpen the edge no wen i go to turn the truck on it will turn on for about 4sec but wont crank fully what could this be and it keeps saying engine power reduced?
    WE TALKIN OR WE RACING
    5.3-CAI-LT HEADERS-TUNEADO POR JAKE BROWN @ Brownspeed

  11. #11
    HPTftw.com hevychevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EL NORTE, TX
    Posts
    6,751

    Default

    thanx for all the info guys good feedback everyone is saying the same so i should get this issue solved fast

  12. #12
    Houstonperformancetrucks.com BrutalSierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    League City
    Posts
    1,715

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ForbiddenInc Crew View Post
    so ur saying that if you open it by hand it will mess up cuz i was having a lil bit of a diff problem i took the tb out of my truck to port and opened it by hand a few times and took the throttle plate out to sharpen the edge no wen i go to turn the truck on it will turn on for about 4sec but wont crank fully what could this be and it keeps saying engine power reduced?
    Sounds like your blade isn't aligned perfectly and is getting hung up on something. also did you reconnect your MAF? try disconnecting your battery for 30mins while you adjust the blade so it opens cleanly with out catching the sides of the TB.


    MY TRUCK IS A HYBRID.....IT BURNS GAS AND RUBBER!!!

  13. #13
    Houstonperformancetrucks.com BrutalSierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    League City
    Posts
    1,715

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hevychevy View Post
    thanx for all the info guys good feedback everyone is saying the same so i should get this issue solved fast
    Yeah, crc makes MAF cleaner, or you can use brake cleaner on a lint free towel. If your truck is a NNBS the sensors are built in the TB IIRC and have to be bought as a whole unit.


    MY TRUCK IS A HYBRID.....IT BURNS GAS AND RUBBER!!!

  14. #14
    HPTftw.com hevychevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EL NORTE, TX
    Posts
    6,751

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrutalSierra View Post
    Yeah, crc makes MAF cleaner, or you can use brake cleaner on a lint free towel. If your truck is a NNBS the sensors are built in the TB IIRC and have to be bought as a whole unit.
    yea its a nnbs so that is why they would not sell me the sensor at autozone or orelys...

  15. #15
    Houstonperformancetrucks.com BrutalSierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    League City
    Posts
    1,715

    Default

    exactly. Have you removed the TB before?? if not your issue is a dirty TB and just needs to be cleaned.
    I'd pull off your TB it's 2 10mm bolts and 2 10mm nuts. your air intake should be 8mm.

    remove the connector on PS of TB and unbolt TB and clean real good with MAF,TB,Brake cleaner and lint free cloth. Then wrap the towel around your hand and soak up the puddle of oil in your intake. Then once your TB is dry reinstall and snug up nice and good. i used a 1/4 socket set so i wouldn't be applying too much torque.

    Should be an easy fix. good luck.

    Also disconnect your battery during the cleaning process so your computer can relearn your TPS signals. Prolly not necessary but may help.


    MY TRUCK IS A HYBRID.....IT BURNS GAS AND RUBBER!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •